Home > Settlers of Catan > Games and Economics

Games and Economics

  1. I’ve always been interested in board games. I’ve played them all of my life, and Settlers of Catan has been a longtime favourite game.
  2. I’ve always been interested in economics. I’ve investigated it almost all of my life, and Settlers of Catan has been a longtime favourite subject.

I’m currently researching and optimizing strategies for Settlers of Catan, or, as I like to call it, developing Settlers Game Theory. I could go into a long rant on Von Neumann’s original “Theory of Games and Economic Behavior”, in which he famously analyzes poker and develops Game Theory, but I’ll not bore you with details that you either already know, or don’t care to know.

Here’s the plan:

  • I will play Settlers (as I have been doing for a long time)
  • I will keep stats (as I have been doing for a shorter time)
  • I will blog about my findings, my thoughts, and generally any correlated economic idea that I find

I’m excited for you all to join me!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

